2017/2018 Award Winners

School Counsellor of the Year:    Tamar Kelly

Tamar is currently the school counsellor at Villanova Junior High. She has worked as a special education teacher with both the Avalon East School Board and the Eastern School District. Since that time, she has worked as a school counsellor at Leary’s Brook Junior High, St. John Bosco, and Janeway Hospital School. Tamar goes above and beyond both at work and in her community. She has been involved with numerous programs and volunteer organizations in the community, as well as championing many programs in her schools. Since 2009, Tamar has been a committed member of the NLCPA executive. In this role she has worked tirelessly for our association, through conference planning, fulfilling her duties as the treasurer, attending meetings, and always being a cheerleader for its members. Time and time again, Tamar has been a wealth of knowledge and wisdom. Tamar touches everyone she encounters with her positivity and warmth. She definitely is deserving of School Counsellor of the Year for 2017/2018!


NLCPA Lifetime Achievement:    Peggy Hann

Peggy is presently a School Psychologist in the Avalon East Region of NLESD and a Registered Psychologist with the Newfoundland Board of Examiners in Psychology. Since joining the school system in 1999, Peggy has also worked as Consultant with the NL Department of Education, Behaviour Unit Teacher at District School, Itinerant School Counsellor in Gander Region and School Psychologist in Clarenville Region. She is a member of APNL (and Past Director), CCPA, NASP, COSS, LDANL and NLESD’s Mental Wellness Committee (Eastern Region). Peggy has also published an article in the research journal, “Learning & Individual Differences” (Penney, Hann, & Power, 1999). On a personal side, Peggy has been supporting her Mom through her journey with Alzheimer’s, has started writing about the topic and has become an advocate for improving “Quality of Life” for Seniors. She is also busy developing a resource on relaxation techniques. Peggy has been a proud member of NLCPA for approximately 20 years and served on the Executive as President for two terms. During the four years of her Presidency, Peggy was part of a very committed team that brought incredibly valuable professional development through our annual NLCPA Conferences as well as continued advocacy and growth to our profession. Peggy has made so many contributions throughout her career thus far and we thank her wholeheartedly for her dedication, perseverance, and many contributions.

Ron Martin Memorial Scholarship:    Carla Crocker

This scholarship is awarded to an individual who has demonstrated proficiency within the field of school counselling (through previous experience, coursework and internship placements), documented community service, academic achievement, and a desire to influence change (as epitomized by Ron during his own career).  Carla is a well-rounded, a grounded, and a vibrant individual who works with integrity and humility.  Carla has demonstrated an uncanny ability to build strong rapport and relationships with peers and students, while working from a strength-based model.  Teaching since 2008, Carla has already dedicated much of her career to supporting counselling-related  committees within her schools,  such as safe and caring schools, service delivery team, student leadership, and guidance committee.  During her internship, Carla was able to demonstrate many competencies, especially as it relates to building relationships via empathy, positive regard, and the ability to build strong rapport and goal-oriented relationships.  Carla looks forward to applying this to her current position as a classroom teacher/IRT, and future counselling positions.

NLCPA Honorary Lifetime Members

2017 –     Peggy Hann
2016 –     Maggie Warren
2015 –     Eric Short
2014 –     Darryl Chippett
2013 –     Glenda Ball
2012 –     Dr. Beaton Walsh
2011 –     Nancy MacDonald
2010 –     Lorraine Pittman
2009 –     Dave Bishop
2008 –     Dave Warren
2007 –     Chris Cooper & Alana Walsh-Giovannini
2006 –     Jack Jardine
2005 –     Dr. Glen Sheppard